Studium_und_Lehre_KM-318
Studium_und_Lehre_KM-318

Deutschlandstipendium: FAQ

You can find more information about the Deutschlandstipendium at www.deutschlandstipendium.de.

We are receiving an increasing number of enquiries regarding the standard period of study and the free attempts granted in connection with the Covid-19 pandemic. Please refer to the Corona information of the RUB for detailed information on this. Enquiries regarding this matter should be directed to the central student advisory service. Thank you for your understanding.

Questions on application and awarding

Who can apply?

Students of all nationalities and all disciplines who are enrolled at RUB. In principle, any degree programme is eligible for funding. This includes a second or postgraduate degree programme, a Master’s degree programme or a part-time/dual degree programme. Part-time students and prospective students who are waiting for admission can also apply for the scholarship. PhD students are excluded from the funding.

I can't log in to the application form. What should I do?

If you cannot log in to complete the application form, please try the following first:

  • Use a different browser (experience shows that Google Chrome and Firefox work best).
  • Check that you have entered your RUB LoginID correctly.
  • Logging in may also work via the Active Directory of IT.Service.

If you are still unable to log in, please contact IT.Services directly, as the Fundraising Office is not able to fix technical problems of individual LoginIDs. Thank you for your understanding.

How much is the scholarship and who pays for it?

The scholarship amounts to 300 euros per month. 150 euros are paid by a donor, and the other 150 euros are paid by the German government. The Deutschlandstipendium is paid directly to the scholarship holders by the universities. The scholarship is awarded irrespective of income and can also be received in addition to BAföG. The scholarship usually lasts at least two semesters.

Will I have to pay the money back?

No. Scholarship holders won’t have to repay the money they’ve been awarded.

How long will I be sponsored?

Sponsored students should be free to concentrate on their education for as long as possible. The scholarship usually lasts at least two semesters. Follow-up scholarship is possible, but it will not be paid for longer than the standard period of study. To receive a follow-up scholarship, another application must be submitted during the application period.

Can I continue to receive the scholarship after one year?

Yes, you can apply for follow-up scholarship after one year. Whether you will receive further funding depends primarily on the quality of your reapplication.

Is there a right to the Deutschlandstipendium?

No. Each university decides individually whether and to whom it offers the scholarship.

What are the funding guidelines for the Deutschlandstipendium?

The legal text on the “Gesetz zur Schaffung eines nationalen Stipendienprogramms” (law on the creation of a national scholarship programme) is available here (German version).

What are the selection criteria?

The Stipendprogramm-Gesetz (StipG, i.e. Scholarship Programme Act) and the Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung (StipV, i.e. Scholarship Programme Ordinance) specify the funding criteria, which the universities can then implement. The Deutschlandstipendium is intended to support talented and productive students. School and academic performance are important criteria for assessing the ability and talent of applicants. However, the eligibility criteria also include awards and prizes, previous employment and internships, extracurricular commitment and overcoming biographical challenges, such as those caused by an applicant's personal and family background. The application and selection process should take into account the applicant’s entire personality.

The selection criteria for faculty-specific and general scholarships are available here

Who decides how the scholarships are awarded?

The scholarship holders are selected by university committees in accordance with established criteria.

Can I apply as a PhD student?

No, you can only apply for a Deutschlandstipendium in your first degree or second degree/postgraduate degree programme. Scholarships for PhD students are offered by e.g. the Research School. You can find more scholarships on the page “Offers for Doctoral Researchers” (in English) and “Zentrale Studienberatung” (German only).

I have just completed my A-levels (Abitur) and am enrolling at RUB for the winter semester. Can I apply?

Yes – please apply via the online application form for school leavers (Abiturient:innen). Please note the application deadlines as stated on the page “Timetable for the application and selection procedure”.

I am (currently) studying at another university. Can I apply?

You can only apply if you will be studying at RUB at the start of the funding period. If you are not enrolled at RUB at the moment, but want to enrol at RUB for the winter semester, please contact us during the application phase regarding your application for a Deutschlandstipendium by email: deutschlandstipendium@rub.de.

We will send you a provisional matriculation number by mid-May, which you can use for your online application.

Requests that reach us at a later date will not be considered, nor will applications that do not contain the provisional matriculation number. Transfer students are those who have already been enrolled at a higher education institution or have obtained an academic degree.

Can I apply as a non-German national/international student?

Yes. However, preference will be given to international students who are already enrolled at Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Can the Deutschlandstipendium also benefit refugees?

Refugee students or persons seeking protection can also receive a scholarship if they are enrolled at RUB.

Social, family or personal challenges, which will be taken into account in the selection process include refugee status or experience of political persecution. These are considered in the selection process.

I am studying XYZ in my second degree/ postgraduate degree programme. Can I apply?

Applicants pursuing a second degree/ postgraduate degree are eligible for a Deutschlandstipendium.

I am completing my Bachelor’s degree at RUB in this semester and will start my Master’s degree at RUB in the next semester. Can I apply?

Yes, you can also apply for a Deutschlandstipendium. But please inform us immediately when you have completed your Bachelor’s degree and are transferring to the Master’s degree programme.

The requirement for continued funding through the Deutschlandstipendium during the transition from the Bachelor’s to the Master’s degree programme is a seamless transition (without so-called waiting semesters or exmatriculation). In addition, we require a current Transcript of Records and – if already available – the Bachelor’s degree certificate as well as the current certificate of study (Studienbescheinigung) as proof that you are in the 1st Master’s semester.

What happens when I finish my studies or change my field of study?

In the case of successful completion of studies, the scholarship ends with the announcement of the overall result. However, it ends at the latest at the end of the second month after the last examination has been taken. Otherwise, the scholarship ends at the end of the month in which the scholarship holder discontinues his or her studies, changes the subject area or is exmatriculated.

What happens if I change universities?

In the event of a change of university to the same subject area, a transition semester is granted, i.e. the scholarship continues to be paid for one semester. This gives the student the opportunity to apply for a Deutschlandstipendium or other funding at the new university. This applies both to a transfer to a university in Germany and to a university abroad.

Where can I find my Transcript of Records?

To apply, you must enclose your current Transcript of Records. You can print out the transcript yourself via eCampus ("Übersicht über Leistungsnachweise").

Alternatively, please contact the responsible examination office for your course of study, which can create a Transcript of Records for you manually.

The application form asks for my grade point average (GPA). What exactly is meant by this?

The Deutschlandstipendium uses both social commitment and academic achievement as selection criteria. For this reason, you will be asked for a current grade point average (GPA) in your application. Please calculate your GPA as it is usually the case in your degree programme. If you have any questions in this regard, please contact your faculty or the relevant examination office; the Fundraising Office cannot make any general statements in this regard. Thank you for your understanding.

Internship, study abroad, leave of absence and sabbatical

My permanent place of residence is not in Germany. Can I still apply?

Yes, if you meet the eligibility criteria according to § 2, section 1, sentence 2 of the Scholarship Programme Act (StipG), you can apply for a Deutschlandstipendium. The award or receipt of the Deutschlandstipendium is not dependent on the student's place of residence. This includes both distance learning students and regular students with a permanent place of residence abroad.

What happens to the Deutschlandstipendium if I take a leave of absence?

During a leave of absence, for example for personal or family reasons (e.g. pregnancy, child care or care for a family member), the scholarship will not be paid. Once you resume your studies, the scholarship period will be extended by the duration of the leave of absence.

The scholarship will not be paid if you accept an internship that is not stipulated in the study regulations or if you spend time abroad studying a subject that is not related to your degree course. In all such cases, you must notify us immediately of your leave of absence. The scholarship will then be discontinued. RUB reserves the right to reclaim any scholarship money paid in excess.

Can I still receive the Deutschlandstipendium during a leave of absence if I complete an internship or study abroad during this time?

A distinction is made between compulsory internships at home and abroad and other internships. Compulsory internships at home or abroad are integrated into the degree programme and do not prevent the scholarship from being paid out. If the scholarship holder takes a leave of absence for other internships that are not stipulated in the respective study regulations, the scholarship will be discontinued for the respective semester and will no longer be paid. In this case, students must notify RUB of the leave of absence immediately. RUB reserves the right to reclaim any money paid in excess.

Can I still receive the Deutschlandstipendium if I complete a voluntary internship without taking a leave of absence?

If the voluntary internship takes place during the semester break or if the internship is carried out on only some days of the week, the scholarship can still be paid. The scholarship will also still be paid if the scholarship holder completes the internship with the current sponsor. If the internship is longer than 8 weeks and full-time, RUB reserves the right to discontinue the scholarship and to reclaim any money paid in excess.

Will the Deutschlandstipendium still be paid during a temporary study abroad, for example as part of the ERASMUS programme?

The scholarship will still be paid even if you spend time abroad studying a subject relevant for your degree during the funding period. This applies irrespective of any leave of absence at the higher education institution awarding the scholarship. If you study abroad through the ERASMUS+ programme, the Deutschlandstipendium will still be paid even if you simultaneously receive a mobility grant from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). Nevertheless, we ask that you not spend time abroad – if possible – during the funding period in order to ensure ongoing exchange and contact with your scholarship donor and other scholarship holders.

Can I temporarily waive my right to receive the Deutschlandstipendium?

Yes, for example for the duration of a DAAD-funded study abroad programme or during other funding that cannot be received at the same time as the Deutschlandstipendium. This does not extend the approval period for the Deutschlandstipendium.

Double sponsorship and compatibility with other benefits

What does double sponsorship mean?

As a general rule, anyone who already receives talent and performance-based material support from another institution (e.g. Begabtenförderungswerk) that averages 30 euros or more per month is not eligible for a Deutschlandstipendium.

A detailed overview of the admissibility of other scholarships (e.g. DAAD, PROMOS etc.) at the same time as the Deutschlandstipendium is available here.

Is it possible to be funded with a DAAD scholarship and the Deutschlandstipendium at the same time?

If you receive a full DAAD scholarship, you cannot receive the Deutschlandstipendium at the same time, as both scholarships are dependent on talent and performance. However, you can take a leave of absence from the Deutschlandstipendium while you are receiving a DAAD full scholarship. However, if you receive a partial DAAD scholarship, you can receive the Deutschlandstipendium at the same time.

I receive Bafög. Will the scholarship count towards this?

No. The Bafög funds and the scholarship are two complementary programmes. This applies to regular Bafög as well as Auslands-Bafög. In principle, students can take advantage of both funding options at the same time without deductions. A deduction is only made insofar as a total amount corresponding to a monthly average of 300 euros is exceeded through the simultaneous receipt of other scholarships. The usual principles of asset imputation apply to saved scholarship funds, i.e. the imputation-free limit of 8,200 euros is not increased when a scholarship is received.

Will the scholarship count towards other social benefits (except Bafög)?

No. As a rule, the scholarship is not offset against other social benefits, such as unemployment benefits “Arbeitslosengeld II”. An exception is the receipt of housing benefit.

Can I also receive housing benefit in addition to the scholarship?

Yes. However, recipients of housing benefits must note that, like other scholarships, half of the scholarship is taken into account for the calculation of the annual income. For further questions on scholarships and housing benefits, please contact your local housing benefits office (“Wohngeldstelle”). The Fundraising Office cannot make any general statements in this regard. Thank you for your understanding.

Does the scholarship affect the receipt of child benefits?

The scholarship does not affect any child benefits received by the scholarship holder’s parents.

Does the scholarship affect the statutory health insurance?

The scholarship does not affect the statutory health insurance as long as the scholarship holder has a mandatory health insurance with a statutory health insurance provider (usually until the completion of the 14th semester or the 30th birthday). This changes if the scholarship holder is (subsequently) insured as a voluntary member. For voluntary members, the legislator has prescribed a minimum contribution. If the insured person’s income that is liable for contributions (which includes scholarships) exceeds an assessment basis specified by the legislator, the respective income is liable for taxation.

Does the scholarship affect my maintenance claim against my parents?

Yes, the scholarship is taken into account in the child maintenance to reduce the need for support. Students who have reached their legal age are required to support themselves from their own resources before asserting claims against their parents. The scholarship counts as part of the scholarship holder’s own income.

Does the Deutschlandstipendium affect a (half-) orphan’s pension?

A (half-) orphan’s benefit is a form of income and not an academic scholarship. The Deutschlandstipendium is granted irrespective of income and thus cannot and must not affect an orphan’s benefit.

How is my scholarship taxed?

The Stipendienprogramm-Gesetz (StipG, Scholarship Programme Act) was drafted in such a way that the scholarship is generally not subject to taxation or social security deductions.

Am I allowed to work alongside the Deutschlandstipendium?

Working as a student trainee does not preclude the receipt of the Deutschlandstipendium, nor does the pursuit of any other paid employment alongside studies ("Werkstudent", mini-job etc). However, in accordance with § 5 Abs. 2 StipG, the scholarship may neither be made dependent on a consideration for the private funding provider nor on an employee activity or a declaration of intent regarding a later employee activity.

What about the university’s other in-house funding programmes? Do the rules for the exclusion of double funding apply?

Only if they constitute talent and performance-based material support. For example, programmes to teach soft skills or interdisciplinary knowledge, as well as mentoring programmes do not preclude funding.

What does material support mean?

Material support is support in the form of cash or non-cash benefits. Benefits that are of monetary value, but which have a primarily educational character and which scholarship holders would otherwise not be able to afford, are considered non-material support, for example newspaper subscriptions. In contrast, financial aid for internet connection would constitute material support.

Deutschlandstipendium: Information for students
To top

Studium_und_Lehre_KM-318
Studium_und_Lehre_KM-318

Deutschlandstipendium: FAQ

Weitere Informationen rund um das Deutschlandstipendium finden Sie auch auf den Seiten des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung.

Uns erreichen vermehrt Nachfragen bezgl. der Regelstudienzeit und den im Zusammenhang mit der Covid-19-Pandemie eingeräumten Freiversuchen. Informationen diesbezüglich entnehmen Sie bitte den Corona-Informationen der RUB, wobei Nachfragen an die zentrale Studienberatung gerichtet werden sollten. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

Fragen zu Bewerbung und Vergabe

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Studierende aller Nationalitäten und aller Fachrichtungen, die an der RUB eingeschrieben sind. Grundsätzlich ist jedes Studium förderungsfähig. Also zum Beispiel auch ein Zweit- oder Ergänzungsstudium, ein Masterstudiengang oder ein berufsbegleitendes/duales Studium. Auch Teilzeitstudierende und angehende Studierende, die auf eine Zulassung warten, können sich für das Stipendium bewerben. Ausgenommen von der Förderung sind Promovierende.

Ich kann mich nicht in das Bewerbungsformular einloggen. Was soll ich tun?

Wenn Sie sich nicht einloggen können, um das Bewerbungsformular auszufüllen, versuchen Sie bitte zunächst folgendes:

  • Verwenden Sie einen anderen Browser (erfahrungsgemäß funktionieren Google Chrome und Firefox am Besten).
  • Überprüfen Sie, ob Sie Ihre RUB LoginID korrekt eingegeben haben.
  • Eine Anmeldung kann ggf. auch über das Active Directory von IT.Service funktionieren.

Falls Sie sich immer noch nicht anmelden können, bitten wir Sie, sich direkt mit IT.Services in Verbindung zu setzen, da die Stabsstelle Fundraising keine technischen Probleme einzelner LoginIDs beheben kann. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

Wie hoch ist die Förderung und wer bezahlt sie?

Die Höhe eines Stipendiums beträgt 300 Euro monatlich. 150 Euro davon werden vom Förderer getragen, die anderen 150 Euro übernimmt der Bund. Das Deutschlandstipendium wird von den Hochschulen direkt an die Stipendiat*innen ausgezahlt. Die Förderung wird einkommensunabhängig vergeben und kann auch zusätzlich zum BAföG bezogen werden.

Muss das Geld zurückgezahlt werden?

Nein. Stipendiat*innen müssen die erhaltenen Mittel nicht zurückzahlen.

Wie lange werde ich gefördert?

Geförderte Studierende sollen möglichst lange den Rücken frei haben und sich auf ihre Ausbildung konzentrieren können. Die Förderung dauert in der Regel mindestens zwei Semester. Eine Weiterförderung ist möglich, jedoch wird das Stipendium nicht länger als im Rahmen der Regelstudienzeit gezahlt.

Kann ich nach einem Jahr auch weiter gefördert werden?

Ja, Sie können sich nach einem Jahr für eine Weiterförderung bewerben. Ob Sie weitergefördert werden, hängt in erster Linie von der Qualität Ihrer Wiederbewerbung ab.

Gibt es ein Recht auf das Deutschlandstipendium?

Nein. Jede Hochschule entscheidet für sich, ob und wem sie das Stipendium anbietet.

Wie sehen die Förderungsrichtlinien für das Deutschlandstipendium aus?

Hier finden Sie die Gesetzestexte zum „Gesetz zur Schaffung eines nationalen Stipendienprogramms“.

Wie sind die Kriterien für die Auswahl der Studierenden?

Das Stipendienprogramm-Gesetz (StipG) und die Stipendienprogramm-Verordnung (StipV) geben die Förderkriterien vor, die die Hochschulen ausgestalten können. Mit dem Deutschlandstipendium sollen begabte und leistungsfähige Studierende gefördert werden. Schulische und Studienleistungen sind ein wichtiger Anhaltspunkt für die Beurteilung von Leistungsfähigkeit und Talent der Bewerber*innen. Zu den Förderkriterien zählen jedoch auch Auszeichnungen und Preise, eine vorangegangene Berufstätigkeit und Praktika, außerschulisches oder außerfachliches Engagement und die Überwindung von etwa herkunftsbedingten biografischen Hindernissen. Das Bewerbungs- und Auswahlverfahren soll die gesamte Persönlichkeit der/des Bewerber*in berücksichtigen.

Die Auswahlkriterien für die fakultätsgebundenen und allgemeinen Stipendien finden Sie hier.

Wer entscheidet über die Vergabe?

Die Stipendiat*innen werden von Gremien der Hochschulen auf Basis der festgelegten Kriterien ausgewählt.

Kann ich mich als Promotionsstudent*in bewerben?

Nein, Sie können sich nur im Erststudium beziehungsweise im Zweitstudium/Aufbaustudium für ein Deutschlandstipendium bewerben. Stipendien für Promotionsstudierende bietet zum Beispiel die Research School an.

Ich habe gerade mein Abitur gemacht und schreibe mich zum Wintersemester an der RUB ein. Kann ich mich bewerben?

Ja – bitte bewerben Sie sich über Online-Bewerbungsformular für Abiturient*innen. Beachten Sie die Bewerbungsfristen, die Sie auf der Seite „Ablauf des Bewerbungs- und Auswahlverfahrens“ finden.

Ich studiere (momentan) an einer anderen Universität. Kann ich mich bewerben?

Die Bewerbung ist nur möglich, wenn Sie ab dem Beginn des Förderungszeitraums an der RUB studieren. Wenn Sie zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht an der RUB eingeschrieben sind, sich aber zum Wintersemester an der RUB immatrikulieren wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte während der Bewerbungsphase bzgl. Ihrer Bewerbung für ein Deutschlandstipendium per Email.

Wir schicken Ihnen bis Mitte Mai eine vorläufige Matrikelnummer, die Sie für die Online-Bewerbung verwenden können.

Anfragen, die uns zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt erreichen, werden nicht mehr berücksichtigt; ebenso Bewerbungen, die keine dieser vorläufigen Matrikelnummern enthalten. Studienwechsler sind diejenigen, die bereits an einer Hochschule immatrikuliert waren beziehungsweise einen akademischen Abschluss erworben haben.

Kann ich mich als ausländischer Studierender bewerben?

Ja. Bevorzugt werden jedoch ausländische Studierende, die bereits an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum immatrikuliert sind.

Kann das Deutschlandstipendium auch Geflüchteten zugutekommen?

Auch Studierende mit Fluchthintergrund beziehungsweise Schutzsuchende können ein Stipendium erhalten, wenn sie an der RUB immatrikuliert sind.

Zu den besonderen sozialen, familiären oder persönlichen Hürden, deren Überwindung im Auswahlverfahren berücksichtigt werden sollen, gehören auch Fluchterfahrung oder die Erfahrung politischer Verfolgung. Diese werden im Auswahlverfahren berücksichtigt.

Ich studiere Fach XYZ im Zweitstudium/Aufbaustudium. Kann ich mich bewerben?

Bewerber*innen im Zweitstudium/Aufbaustudium haben die Möglichkeit, ein Deutschlandstipendium zu erhalten.

Ich schließe mein Bachelorstudium an der RUB in diesem Semester ab und beginne ab dem kommenden Semester mein Masterstudium an der RUB. Kann ich mich bewerben?

Ja, auch in diesem Fall können Sie sich für ein Deutschlandstipendium bewerben. Bitte setzen Sie uns jedoch unverzüglich darüber in Kenntnis, wenn Sie das Bachelorstudium beendet haben und in den Masterstudiengang übergehen.

Voraussetzung für die Weiterförderung durch das Deutschlandstipendium während des Übergangs vom Bachelor- in den Masterstudiengang ist der pausenlose Übergang (ohne Wartesemester oder Exmatrikulation). Zudem benötigen wir ein aktuelles Transcript of Records und – falls bereits vorhanden – das Bachelorzeugnis sowie die aktuelle Studienbescheinigung, aus der hervorgeht, dass Sie sich im 1. Mastersemester befinden.

Wo finde ich mein Transcript of Records?

Für die Bewerbung müssen Sie ihr aktuelles Transcript of Records beifügen. In diesem Transcript sind Ihre bisherigen Leistungs- und Studiennachweise aufgeführt. Das Transcript können Sie sich selbstständig über eCampus ausdrucken ("Übersicht über Leistungsnachweise").

Alternativ wenden Sie sich bitte an das zuständige Prüfungsamt, das Ihnen manuell ein Transcript of Records erstellen kann.

In der Bewerbung wird nach meinem Notendurchschnitt gefragt. Was ist damit genau gemeint?

Das Deutschlandstipendium nutzt sowohl gesellschaftliches Engagement als auch akademische Leistungen als Auswahlkriterien. Aus diesem Grund werden Sie in Ihrer Bewerbung um einen aktuellen Notendurchschnitt gebeten. Ihren Notendurchschnitt errechnen Sie bitte so, wie es in Ihrem Studiengang üblicherweise der Fall ist. Bei diesbezüglichen Fragen können Sie sich an Ihre Fakultät oder das zuständige Prüfungsamt wenden; die Stabsstelle Fundraising kann hierzu keine pauschale Aussage treffen. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis.

Praktikum, Ausland, Urlaub und Auszeit

Mein fester Wohnsitz befindet sich im Ausland. Kann ich mich trotzdem bewerben?

Weder Fernstudierenden noch Studierenden mit festem Wohnsitz im Ausland kann eine Bewerbung um ein Deutschlandstipendium verwehrt werden, wenn die Voraussetzungen für eine Antragsberechtigung gemäß § 2 Abs. 1 S. 2 Stipendienprogramm-Gesetz (StipG) erfüllt sind. Die Vergabe bzw. der Bezug des Deutschlandstipendiums ist insofern nicht vom Wohnsitz der Studierenden abhängig zu machen.

Was geschieht mit dem Deutschlandstipendium, wenn ich vom Studium beurlaubt bin?

Während einer Beurlaubung vom Studium, etwa aus persönlichen oder familiären Gründen (zum Beispiel bei Schwangerschaft oder Kinderziehung oder zur Pflege eines nahen Angehörigen), wird das Stipendium nicht fortgezahlt. Mit Fortsetzung des Studiums verlängert sich der Bewilligungszeitraum um die Dauer der Beurlaubung.

Das Stipendium wird nicht weitergezahlt, wenn ein nicht in der Studienordnung vorgesehenes Praktikum absolviert oder ein nicht fachrichtungsbezogener Auslandsaufenthalt angestrebt wird. In allen Fällen muss die Beurlaubung unverzüglich mitgeteilt werden. Das Stipendium wird dann eingestellt. Die RUB behält sich vor, zu viel gezahlte Stipendiengelder zurückzufordern.

Kann das Deutschlandstipendium während einer Beurlaubung weiterbezogen werden, wenn in dieser Zeit ein Praktikum oder ein Auslandsaufenthalt absolviert wird?

Hier ist zwischen Pflichtpraktika im In- und Ausland und sonstigen Praktika zu unterscheiden. Verpflichtende In- oder Auslandspraktika sind in das Studium integriert und stehen einer Auszahlung des Stipendiums nicht entgegen. Lässt sich der/die Stipendiat*in für sonstige Praktika beurlauben, die in der jeweiligen Studienordnung nicht vorgesehen sind, wird das Stipendium für das betreffende Semester eingestellt und nicht weitergezahlt. In diesem Fall muss die Beurlaubung unverzüglich mitgeteilt werden. Die RUB behält sich vor, zu viel gezahlte Stipendiengelder zurückzufordern.

Kann das Deutschlandstipendium weiterbezogen werden, wenn ich ein freiwilliges Praktikum absolviere, ohne mich vom Studium beurlauben zu lassen?

Wenn das freiwillige Praktikum in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit stattfindet oder das Praktikum an einzelnen Wochentagen absolviert wird, kann das Stipendium weitergezahlt werden. Auch wird das Stipendium weitergezahlt, wenn der/die Stipendiat*in das Praktikum beim aktuellen Förderer absolviert. Ist das Praktikum länger als 8 Wochen und in Vollzeit, behält sich die RUB vor, das Stipendium einzustellen und die zu viel gezahlten Stipendiengelder zurückzufordern.

Wird das Deutschlandstipendium während eines vorübergehenden Auslandsstudiums, etwa im Rahmen des ERASMUS-Programms, fortgezahlt?

Das Stipendium wird auch dann fortgezahlt, wenn man sich während des Förderungszeitraums in einem fachrichtungsbezogenen Auslandsaufenthalt befindet. Das gilt unabhängig von einer eventuellen Beurlaubung an der Hochschule, die das Stipendium vergibt. Studiert man über das ERASMUS+-Programm im Ausland, wird das Deutschlandstipendium auch dann fortgezahlt, wenn man als Stipendiat*in gleichzeitig einen Mobilitätszuschuss vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) erhält. Dennoch bitten wir, Auslandsaufenthalte – soweit möglich – nicht in die Zeit der Förderung zu legen, um den regelmäßigen Austausch und Kontakt mit den Spender*innen sowie anderen Stipendiat*innen zu gewährleisten.

Doppelförderung und Vereinbarkeit mit anderen Leistungen

Was bedeutet Doppelförderung?

Grundsätzlich gilt: Wer schon eine begabungs- und leistungsabhängige materielle Förderung einer anderen Einrichtung (zum Beispiel Begabtenförderungswerk) erhält, die durchschnittlich 30 Euro oder mehr pro Monat beträgt, kann kein Deutschlandstipendium bekommen.

Eine detaillierte tabellarische Übersicht zur Zulässigkeit des gleichzeitigen Bezugs anderer Stipendien mit dem Deutschlandstipendium (z.B. DAAD-Stipendien, PROMOS etc.) finden Sie hier.

Ich erhalte BAföG. Wird das Stipendium darauf angerechnet?

Nein. Die Mittel nach dem Bafög und das Stipendium sind zwei sich ergänzende Programme. Dies gilt auch für Auslands-Bafög, soweit die Kriterien für einen Weiterbezug des Stipendiums während eines Auslandsaufenthaltes gewährleistet sind. Studierende können grundsätzlich beide Fördermöglichkeiten gleichzeitig ohne Abschläge in Anspruch nehmen. Eine Anrechnung findet nur statt, soweit durch den gleichzeitigen Bezug anderer Stipendien ein Gesamtbetrag, der einem Monatsdurchschnitt von 300 Euro entspricht, überschritten wird. Für angesparte Stipendienmittel gelten die üblichen Grundsätze der Vermögensanrechnung, das heißt die anrechnungsfreie Grenze von 8.200 Euro erhöht sich bei einem Stipendienbezug nicht.

Wird das Stipendium auf andere Sozialleistungen angerechnet (außer BAföG)?

Nein. Das Stipendium wird grundsätzlich nicht auf andere Sozialleistungen, wie zum Beispiel Arbeitslosengeld II, angerechnet. Eine Ausnahme stellt der Bezug von Wohngeld dar.

Kann ich parallel zum Stipendium auch Wohngeld beziehen?

Ja. Bezieher von Wohngeld müssen jedoch beachten, dass das Stipendium wie auch andere Stipendien zur Hälfte für die Berechnung des Jahreseinkommens berücksichtigt wird. Für weitere Fragen zum Thema Stipendium und Wohngeld wenden Sie sich an Ihre zuständige Wohngeldstelle.

Hat das Stipendium Auswirkungen auf den Bezug von Kindergeld?

Der Erhalt des Stipendiums hat keinen Einfluss auf den Bezug von Kindergeld der Eltern der/des Stipendiaten*in.

Hat das Stipendium Auswirkungen auf den Beitrag der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung?

Das Stipendium hat keine Auswirkungen auf den Beitrag in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung, solange der/die Stipendiat*in in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung pflichtversichert ist (in der Regel bis zum Abschluss des 14. Fachsemesters bzw. des 30. Lebensjahres). Anders liegt der Fall, wenn der/die Stipendiat*in (anschließend) als freiwilliges Mitglied versichert ist. Für freiwillige Mitglieder hat der Gesetzgeber die Erhebung von Mindestbeiträgen vorgeschrieben. Überschreiten die beitragspflichtigen Einnahmen der Versicherten (hierzu gehören auch Stipendien) eine vom Gesetzgeber vorgegebene Bemessungsgrundlage, sind die entsprechenden Einnahmen beitragspflichtig.

Hat das Stipendium Auswirkungen auf meinen Unterhaltsanspruch gegenüber meinen Eltern?

Ja. Das Stipendium wird beim Kindesunterhalt bedarfsmindernd berücksichtigt. Volljährige Studierende sind gehalten, sich zunächst aus eigenen Mitteln zu unterhalten, bevor sie Ansprüche gegenüber ihren Eltern geltend machen. Das Stipendium zählt dabei zu den eigenen Einkünften der/des Stipendiat*in.

Hat das Deutschlandstipendium Auswirkungen auf eine (Halb)waisenrente?

Bei einer (Halb)waisenrente handelt es sich um eine Form von Einkommen und nicht um eine Bildungsförderung. Das Deutschlandstipendium wird einkommensunabhängig gewährt und kann und darf damit den Erhalt von Waisenrenten nicht beeinträchtigen.

Wie wird mein Stipendium steuerlich behandelt?

Das Stipendienprogramm-Gesetz (StipG) wurde so ausgestaltet, dass es sich bei dem Stipendium in der Regel nicht um steuer- oder sozialabgabenpflichtiges Einkommen handelt.

Darf ich neben dem Deutschlandstipendium eine bezahlte Tätigkeit ausüben?

Eine Tätigkeit als Werkstudent schließt den Bezug des Deutschlandstipendiums nicht aus, ebenso wenig wie die Ausübung einer anderen bezahlten Tätigkeit neben dem Studium. Das Stipendium darf allerdings nach § 5 Abs. 2 StipG weder von einer Gegenleistung für den privaten Mittelgeber noch von einer Arbeitnehmertätigkeit oder einer Absichtserklärung hinsichtlich einer späteren Arbeitnehmertätigkeit abhängig gemacht werden.

Wie wird mit hochschuleigenen Förderprogrammen verfahren? Fallen diese unter den Ausschluss von Doppelförderung?

Nur, wenn es sich um eine begabungs- und leistungsabhängige materielle Förderung handelt. So stehen zum Beispiel Programme zur Vermittlung von Soft Skills oder fachübergreifenden Kenntnissen sowie Mentoringprogramme einer Förderung nicht entgegen.

Wann spricht man von materieller Förderung?

Eine materielle Förderung ist die Förderung durch Geld- oder Sachleistungen. Leistungen, die zwar geldwert sind, bei denen aber der bildende Charakter im Vordergrund steht und die sich Stipendiat*innen ansonsten nicht leisten würden, gelten als ideelle Förderung, zum Beispiel Zeitungsabonnements. Dagegen wäre ein Zuschuss zur Finanzierung eines Internetanschlusses eine materielle Förderung.

Deutschlandstipendium: Informationen für Studierende
Nach oben